Breaking News: Failed Attempt To Kill Israeli Envoy in Jordan


amman-jordan[Updates below.] 6:40 p.m. IDT/11:40 a.m. EST: First report: Developing: A blast has rocked the Israeli Embassy in Jordan with a roadside bomb exploding next to the car of an Israeli diplomat. The Israeli Ambassador to Jordan is believed to have been the target, but was unhurt. No one was injured in the blast. Details of the attack have not yet been released. The incident occured approximately 90 minutes ago.

Update, 6:47 p.m. IDT/11:47 a.m. EST:  According to preliminary reports, the roadside bomb was detonated near a secured convoy carrying Israeli diplomatic staff in Jordan, heading to the country’s capital of Amman. There are still no reports of casualties in the attack.

The Embassy staff continued to Amman following the blast, which according to some reports took place near the Allenby Bridge crossing point between Israel and Jordan. Jordan’s security authorities have launched an investigation into the attack, while Israeli security officials monitor the situation.

Update, 6:52 p.m. IDT/11:52 a.m. EST: Israel’s diplomatic officials in Jordan face an ongoing terror threat in the neighboring country, reports Ynet. Less than a year ago, a Jordanian court sentenced three Hamas members to five years in prison after convicting them of engaging in surveillance operations outside Israel’s embassy in Amman. However, diplomats are not the only Israelis facing danger in Jordan. A year ago, two Jordanian citizens were indicted for planning to murder an Israeli businessman who owns a factory in the city of Irbid. The two, Louie Shahada, 37, and Mohammad Udatella, 36, were charged with attempted murder and possession of illegal weapons. According to the indictment, the two were seeking to murder Jewish people in Jordan.

{Yair Israel}