“Pesach Wafer” Packaging Raises Rabbinate’s Ire


pesach-waferIn an era in which “almost everything” has a kosher for Pesach version, the Chief Rabbinate has been struggling to come up with guidelines that will prevent less-knowledgeable shoppers from making a mistake and buying a non-kosher for Pesach product on the holiday.

Among those guidelines is a rule whereby cakes, candies, cookies, and other snack items that carry the same name on Pesach as they do during the rest of the year be packaged and/or shaped differently, in order to provide shoppers with a clear indication that the product they are buying is not the same one they buy all year long, despite the fact that it carries an identical name – as well as indicating that the product with the familiar shape/packaging/texture is non-kosher for Pesach.

The rule is a condition for receiving supervision from the Rabbinate for Pesach products. Under Israeli law, a product cannot be marketed as kosher unless it is approved by the Rabbinate. Read the full story at Arutz Sheva.

{Matzav.com Israel}


  1. The rule is dont just rely on the Hashgacha but read the ingredients yourself and use common sense. Mistakes do happen. If the product lists an ingredient that is chometz then dont buy it regardless of whose hashgacha it is.

  2. Why would you want to buy “Kosher L”Pesach Challah” for the Seder? I grew up not being permitted to bring pareve margarine to the table when my mother served a fleshig dinner. You are confusing your children…Pesach is only 8 days. We have all survived!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here