92nd Annual Torah Vodaas Dinner This Sunday


torah-vodaas-smallAlumni, parents, and friends of Yeshiva Torah Vodaath will gather at the yeshiva’s 92nd annual dinner this Sunday, May 15, at Ateres Chaya Hall in Brooklyn.

Representing the team of organizers, Rabbi Yitzchok Gottdiener, executive director, said the dinner will be an unforgettable event, graced by the presence of distinguished rabbonim and Torah leaders. This year’s theme, An Evening of Remembering & Reflecting, will pay tribute to the lives of former roshei yeshiva Rabbi Yaakov Kamenetsky zt”l (1891-1986), upon his 25th yahrzeit; Rabbi Avraham Pam, zt”l (1913-2001), upon his 10th yahrzeit; and mark the passing of his esteemed Rebbetzin Sarah Pam, a”h (1913-2011).

An added highlight: three distinguished members of the renowned Kamenetsky family – Rabbi Binyomin Kamenetsky, Rosh Yeshiva South Shore; Rabbi Shmuel Kamenetsky, Rosh Yeshiva Philadelphia; and Rabbi Avrohom Kamenetsky – will be participating in the dinner, celebrating the leadership of these selfless luminaries of Klal Yisrael.

In addition, Rabbi Yaakov Yitzchok Eichorn, a noted rosh mesivta and mechanech at Torah Vodaath, will receive the Kesser Torah Award. Rabbi Eichorn was a very close talmid of Rabbi Shlomo Heiman zt”l. Distinguished alumnus, askan, and well-known attorney in the Boston community Rabbi Chaim Krasnow and his wife will receive the Moreinu Rabbi Kamenetsky Emes l’Yaakov Award. Alumnus and dedicated Hatzolah responder Menashe Leiman and his wife will receive the Moreinu Rabbi Pam Chesed Award, publicly acknowledging their long personal relationship with Rabbi and Rebbetzin Pam. The Marbitz Torah Award will be conferred on Rabbi Ari Spiegel of Lakewood, member of the class of 1986 and author of the weekly Kol Yaakov publication, and his wife.

This past winter Mr. and Mrs. Luzy Steinmetz opened their home to welcome the hundreds of people who came to participate at the Oneg Shabbos during the Torah Vodaath Marine Park Shabbos. They have earned the Alumnus of the Year award. The dinner will be dedicated to the memory of Yosef Weiss a”h, a very close talmid of Rabbi Pam. R’ Yosef was a warm and caring person, and his petirah at a relatively young age has left a void impossible to fill.

There will be a special memorial to the life of the legendary Rabbi Avrohom Talansky, z”l (d. 2010), commemorating his devotion to Torah Vodaath and his dedication to countless individuals who turned to him for help. Gedaliah Weinberger is dinner chairman and serves, together with Chaim Leshkowitz and Shiya Hollander, on the yeshiva’s executive committee.

{Rabbi G. Tannenbaum-Macheberes/Matzav.com Newscenter}


  1. these folks deserve to be honored, they are exactly as described in the article.
    honorees like these make people want to give cause they never turned anyone down. now we cant turn them down!! good choices!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here