Obama Signs Emergency Declaration For States Of New York, New Jersey

>>Follow Matzav On Whatsapp!<<

obama3As the Hurricane Sandy Frankenstorm approached, President Barack Obama issued a federal emergency declaration for the State of New York and New Jersey.

The declaration means the state and local governments can receive federal assistance for the costs of evacuation, sheltering and other measures.
“Once again, I thank the President for his quick response to my request for a federal emergency declaration which will apply to the entire State of New York,” Gov. Andrew Cuomo said in a news release. “We appreciate the federal government’s support as we continue to prepare for Hurricane Sandy.”

With the declaration, the Federal Emergency Management Agency may identify, mobilize and provide equipment and resources as needed.

Later Sunday night, Obama also signed a disaster declaration for New Jersey, as earlier requested by Gov. Chris Christie.

Obama has also signed emergency declarations for Maryland, Massachusetts and the District of Columbia.


{Matzav.com Newscenter}



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here