11 Of 37 U.S. Lawmakers Who Didn’t Support Iron Dome Funding Backed By J Street


iron-dome-rocketEleven of 37 U.S. lawmakers who did not vote in favor of emergency aid for Israel’s Iron Dome missile defense system have received a combined $92,387 from J Street’s political action committee (JStreetPAC).

Earlier this month, the U.S. Congress voted 395-8 to approve an additional $225 million in emergency funding for the Iron Dome amid Israel’s Operation Protective Edge. The Washington Free Beacon, citing Federal Election Committee documents, reported Aug. 21 that JStreetPAC in the current election cycle has donated $21,145 to Reps. Keith Ellison (D-MN), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), and Walter Jones (R-NC), who all voted against the Iron Dome funds.

An additional eight lawmakers who abstained from the vote-Reps. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Susan Davis (D-CA), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), John Garamendi (D -CA), Jim McDermott (D-WA), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), Jackie Speier (D-CA), and Ed Whitfield (R-KY)-received $71,242 from JStreetPAC.

J Street itself, however, on its website calls for “robust American military aid to Israel.” In March 2013, the lobby urged the “swift passage” of the Iron Dome Support Act.


{Matzav.com Newscenter}


  1. I would not necessarily penalize the lawmakers who did not vote; many had already left town as the recess was supposed to have started already.

    The ones to penalize are the ones who actually voted no:

    Beto O’Rourke, D-TX
    Keith Ellison, D-MN
    Zoe Lofgren, D-CA
    James Moran, D-VA (retiring from Congress this year)
    Walter Jones, R-NC
    Thomas Massie, R-KY
    Mark Sanford, R-SC (yes, the same Mark Sanford who lied about having an affair and using state travel funds to visit his mistress, and still get elected to Congress)
    Justin Amash, R-MI (who easily won a Republican primary a few days after his “no” vote)

    I also found the roll call for the 2010 vote on Iron Dome. There were four “no” votes:

    Ron Paul, R-TX (no longer in Congress)
    Dennis Kucinich, D-OH (no longer in Congress)
    Pete Stark, D-CA (no longer in Congress)
    John Conyers, D-MI (still in Congress and about to become the longest serving active congressman assuming he is re-elected this fall)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here