EU, Brazil, South Korea And Others Get Temporary Exemptions From Trump’s Steel Tariffs


U.S. allies breathed sighs of relief Thursday after the Trump administration issued a temporary reprieve on tariffs on steel and aluminum, hours before they were set to begin.

The decision to exclude some of the United States’ closest trading partners from the import tariffs gave some space to the U.S. allies as they sought to negotiate permanent exemptions. Argentina, Australia, Brazil, the European Union and South Korea are on the list U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer announced at a Senate hearing. Canada and Mexico already had been exempted.

(c) 2018, The Washington Post · Michael Birnbaum



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here