NYC Voters Choose 2 Terms For Officials

>>Follow Matzav On Whatsapp!<<

bloombergNew York City voters have passed a ballot measure seeking to limit New York City mayors and other officeholders to two consecutive terms. That means elected officials will not be allowed to serve three consecutive terms.

The limit had long been two terms but was extended in 2008 when Mayor Michael Bloomberg decided he wanted to run again.

He hastily persuaded the City Council to change the law for him. He promised he would later appoint a commission to put the issue on the ballot, but New Yorkers returned to a two-term limit on Tuesday.

Tuesday’s vote marks the third time New York City voters have chosen a two-term limit for their officeholders. They did so by referndum twice in the 1990s.



  1. I voted for it but so what? You see what Lord Mike did. The will of the people was broken & nobody cared! Viharya, the dumb voters/media voted Gloomberg in anyway! This is a joke & a farce!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here