Young Israel to Hold 97th Anniversary Dinner, Honoring El Al, Congressman Engel, and Others

>>Follow Matzav On Whatsapp!<<

young-israel-logoThe National Council of Young Israel (NCYI) will host its 97th Anniversary Dinner on Thursday evening, May 7.The dinner will take place at the Museum of Jewish Heritage, which is located at 36 Battery Place in Manhattan. The theme of this year’s dinner is “Honoring our Past, Impacting the Present, and Building our Future.”

According to NCYI President Shlomo Z. Mostofsky, the National Council of Young Israel has selected an array of honorees, each of whom has made significant contributions to their synagogue, their community, and to the broader Jewish community.

“We chose to honor a number of worthy individuals who aptly represent our rich and vibrant past, embody the best of the present, and give us a glimpse of the bright future that lies ahead for our community,” Mostofsky said.

The honorees are as follows:

El Al Israel Airlines – Guest of Honor;

Yudi & Aviva Zuller – Israel Solidarity Award;

Honoring the Legacy of the Young Israel of Eastern Parkway – Rabbi Zvi Dov Kanotopsky Z”L, Mara D’Asra (Accepted by his daughter, Dr. Tziporah Meier of Teaneck, NJ) and Mr. Harold Jacobs, Z”L, President (Accepted by his son, Paul Jacobs of Toronto, Canada);

Rabbi Israel Upbin, Z”L, Executive Vice President, NCYI, 1943-1953 (Accepted by his son, Robert Upbin of Oceanside, NY) – Gerald L. Kaufman Memorial Presidential Award;

Congressman Eliot Engel – Defender of Jerusalem Award;

Jan Fenster, Past President, Queens Jewish Community Council – NCYI Tzorchei Tzibbur Award;

Rabbi Yisroel Menachem Kohn, Former Mara D’Asra of the Young Israel of Eltingville, NY, and the author of Nitzotzei Yisrael – Young Israel Council of Rabbis Hakaras Hatov Award;

Rabbi Michoel Chazan, Director of Chaplaincy Services at Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center – Chaplains Meritorious Service Award;

Chavi Jacobs, Founder of Sasson V’Simcha, Toronto, Canada – Bayit Ne’eman B’Yisrael Award;

Raanan & Ephrat Dvir, Young Israel of New Haven, CT – Shofar Award;

Bart & Cindy Ehrenkranz, Young Israel of Memphis, TN – Shofar Award;

Joseph & Rachelle Klein, Young Israel of Kew Gardens Hills, NY – Shofar Award;

Avi Evan Azoulay & Yitzchak Gross, Young Israel of Pelham Parkway, NY – Herbert S. Schweitzer Memorial Youth Services Award;

Betty-Ann Weiner, Young Israel of Sunnyside, NY – Aishet Chayil Award; and

Sharon Shoen Muchnick, Young Israel of West Hempstead, NY – Ma’aseh Yadecha Award for Jewish Art & Design.

For more information about the dinner or to make reservations, visit; send an email to; or call 212-929-1525 x100.

{Elisha Newscenter}


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here